Compare

RoverPass alternative: CampStack vs RoverPass

Short answer

RoverPass charges small parks a $99 monthly minimum with $3.50 per reservation credited toward it, and the park chooses whether the park or the camper pays the fee. CampStack is a flat $49 a month or $490 a year with unlimited reservations and no fee for the camper at all.

On this page
  1. Pricing at a glance, checked October 2026
  2. Where RoverPass is genuinely good
  3. Where CampStack is different
  4. How the small-park minimum works
  5. What a park pays at 300, 800 and 1,500 bookings a season
  6. The guest fee question
  7. A note on marketplaces
  8. Questions to ask RoverPass
  9. Switching from RoverPass
  10. Who should choose which

RoverPass is a campground and RV park reservation platform with a marketplace and a published price list. This page compares it to CampStack using RoverPass's public pages, checked on October 25, 2026.

Pricing at a glance, checked October 2026

RoverPassCampStack
Small parks$99/month minimum; $3.50 per reservation credited toward it$49/month or $490/year, flat
Medium parks$3.50 per reservation, no monthly feeSame flat price
Large parksCustom, from $1.50 per reservationSame flat price
Who pays the feePark chooses: park absorbs it or camper paysPark pays the flat price. Camper pays nothing extra
Add-onsMass SMS, integrations, waivers, website (small and medium)None sold separately
Setup feeNot publishedNone
Go-live"Most parks go live in 1 to 2 weeks"Self-serve import, often an afternoon
SupportPhone support and dedicated onboardingEmail support at hello@campstack.online
Contract"Cancel anytime," per RoverPass; agreement terms not published on that pageNone
Card processingNot detailed on the pricing page we readStripe standard rate, passed through at cost

Source: RoverPass pricing, checked October 2026.

Where RoverPass is genuinely good

  • Clear tiers on a public page. You can see what a small, medium and large park pays without calling a salesperson.
  • A lot is included. RoverPass lists a booking calendar, payments, automated email, dynamic pricing, an interactive site map, a channel manager, POS, analytics and multi-property support in all tiers.
  • Phone support and a dedicated onboarding person. For an owner who wants a voice on the line, that matters.
  • Scale. RoverPass says it works with "2,000+ campgrounds and RV parks" on its home page.
  • A marketplace and a channel manager, which can put your sites in front of more campers. CampStack does not have a channel manager.
  • Medium-park pricing with no monthly fee, which can suit a park with mid-range volume.
  • A choice about who pays. The park can decide whether to absorb the fee.

Where CampStack is different

  • No per-reservation fee at all. RoverPass's price rises with bookings once you pass about 28 reservations a month on the small plan. CampStack's does not.
  • No camper fee. If a RoverPass park passes the fee to the camper, the camper pays it at checkout. CampStack adds nothing.
  • A lower floor. $49 a month against a $99 minimum.
  • A published import path. You can start from a CSV, a spreadsheet or your directory listing and check a preview before you commit.

We are also newer and smaller. RoverPass has the larger customer base and the channel manager, and we do not offer that.

How the small-park minimum works

For a small park, RoverPass says $99 a month minimum, with $3.50 per reservation credited toward it. Break-even is about 28 reservations in a month: 99 divided by 3.50 is 28.3. Below 28, you pay $99. Above, you pay 3.50 times your reservations.

Bear in mind that a minimum applied monthly means your slow months still cost $99 each. The pricing page does not say whether a seasonal park can pause. Ask.

RoverPass does not state in the text we reviewed where the line between small and medium sits. Ask what counts as small, medium and large before you compare.

What a park pays at 300, 800 and 1,500 bookings a season

Assumptions: one reservation per booking, the park pays the fee, the plan is billed for 12 months, and add-ons and card processing are excluded. We show the small-park plan and the medium-park plan, since your tier is not something we can tell.

Bookings a seasonSmall park: larger of $3.50 per reservation or $1,188Medium park: $3.50 per reservationCampStack yearly
300$1,188$1,050$490
800$2,800$2,800$490
1,500$5,250$5,250$490

The math: 300 x 3.50 = 1,050, which is under 99 x 12 = 1,188, so a small park pays $1,188. 800 x 3.50 = 2,800. 1,500 x 3.50 = 5,250.

The small-park total is at least these amounts. If your bookings bunch into summer, the monthly minimum compounds in slow months. If a camper pays the fee instead, the park's bill is lower and the camper's goes up by the same amount.

The guest fee question

RoverPass lets the park choose who pays. If you choose to pass it to campers, a $3.50 line appears for every booking. For a three-night stay at $45 a night, a $135 booking, $3.50 is about 2.6% on top. Some campers will not mind. Some will call you instead and book direct by phone.

We say about 2.6% as a plain calculation: 3.50 divided by 135 is 0.026. It is not a RoverPass claim.

A note on marketplaces

RoverPass describes a marketplace where you can list your park alongside many other outdoor stays. A marketplace can bring in campers who would not have found you. It can also mean that a booking you would have gotten anyway arrives with a fee attached. The way to find out is to track where each reservation came from for one season. Ask your software vendor for a report of bookings by source, and compare marketplace bookings to your direct ones. Whichever vendor you choose, a booking from your own website, your own phone line and your own repeat guests costs you least. That is why CampStack puts effort into your own booking page and a free directory listing that sends campers to you.

Questions to ask RoverPass

  1. Which tier is my park in, and what are the cutoffs?
  2. Do I pay the $99 minimum in months when I am closed?
  3. If bookings come in through the RoverPass marketplace, are there extra marketplace fees for me or the camper?
  4. Is there a contract, and what does cancellation look like?
  5. Is there a setup or onboarding fee?
  6. How do I export my sites, guests and reservations if I leave?

Switching from RoverPass

RoverPass documents its reports. In the Owner Portal, open Reports from the left sidebar, choose a report, apply filters, open the three-dot menu and pick a version to download. It opens in Google Sheets or Excel, so save a CSV afterward. Reports include reservation details by site, payments and payouts, and daily arrivals and departures.

Two cautions. Filters carry over to exports, so a leftover filter silently drops rows. And bookings that came through the RoverPass marketplace may carry marketplace fees, so decide whether you want amounts paid recorded gross or net. We did not find a dedicated site list or guest list export, so take sites and guests from the reservation details report or ask support. See the switch guide.

Who should choose which

Choose RoverPass if you want a channel manager and marketplace exposure, you value phone support and a named onboarding person, or you are a medium-size park with the monthly fee waived.

Choose CampStack if you want a flat bill, you take enough bookings that per-reservation fees add up, or you do not want campers to see a fee.

See also: all comparisons, pricing, CampLife, booking fee calculator.

Sources

Facts about other companies come from their own public pages. Prices change, so open the source before you decide.

  1. RoverPass pricing, checked October 25, 2026.
  2. RoverPass home, checked October 25, 2026.
  3. RoverPass help: reports in the owner portal, checked October 25, 2026.
  4. RoverPass help: payment history, checked October 25, 2026.

Questions

Common questions

Does RoverPass charge booking fees?

Yes. RoverPass lists $3.50 per reservation for small and medium parks, and from $1.50 for large parks. Small parks have a $99 monthly minimum with the per-reservation fee credited toward it. The park chooses whether the park or the camper pays.

What is a flat fee alternative to RoverPass?

CampStack is $49 a month or $490 a year, flat, with unlimited reservations, unlimited users and no fee added to the camper's checkout.

How does RoverPass make money?

From its pricing page: a monthly minimum or a per-reservation fee charged to the park, and a choice to have the camper pay. Its site also describes a marketplace and add-ons such as mass SMS, waivers and a website.

Is RoverPass free for campgrounds?

No. Its pricing page lists a $99 monthly minimum for small parks, $3.50 per reservation with no monthly fee for medium parks, and custom pricing from $1.50 per reservation for large parks.

How much does RoverPass cost?

For a small park, at least $99 a month, which is $1,188 a year. The $3.50 per reservation fee counts toward that minimum, so you pay the larger of the two. Tier cutoffs by park size were not stated in the text we read.

Is there a contract with RoverPass?

RoverPass's pricing page says "Cancel anytime." It does not describe a contract term in the text we read, so ask RoverPass for the agreement in writing before you sign.

How long does it take to set up RoverPass?

RoverPass says most parks go live in 1 to 2 weeks, with dedicated onboarding.

Can I export my data from RoverPass?

RoverPass reports can be downloaded from the Owner Portal and opened in Excel or Google Sheets. We found no dedicated site list or guest list export on its help pages, so ask support if you need one.